March Favorites and Mini-Reviews!

It’s been awhile and I miss this!

March has been really busy and crucial. Busy — lots of responsibilities to take care of, and crucial — finishing my final requirements for my last four majors and my on-the-job training program next academic term. Come October, I’m finally having that diploma! πŸ˜€

March was also the month that I finally found my HG (holy grail) foundation combo! And a few other things, too, that spiced up my days in March. πŸ™‚

1. Smashbox Studio Skin 15-hour Wear Foundation w/ SPF10 + a nameless loose powder I got way back from Saizen

My shade is 2.1 and this is the first time I’ve tried a heavy-duty foundation. It has this gel-like and creamy consistency, unlike my Clinique’s runny form. It covers well and has superb oil control! If you aren’t a big fan of matte, stay away from this since it can also maximize your dry patches. Best of all, it comes with a pump, coverage is buildable & a little goes a long way. The loose powder though is the perfect topping—turns the matte & flat Smashbox into something a little more 3-D. It has really tiny shimmer flecks but doesn’t give that highlighter effect. It’s buttery smooth too & makes me wonder if this is a surplus stock of those Shiseido or <insert high-end Asian brand> powders.

2. nameless powder brushes (a paddle powder brush, eye shading brush, highlighting/blush brush)

These come from a set of brushes that was my first brushes when I started dabbling on make-up. I admit I forgot all about these & kept them at the back of my closet. I found these last month and I’ve never looked back. πŸ™‚ Soft, doesn’t shed easily, and functions well! I use the paddle brush for bronzing, the eye shader for base colors and blush brush for cheekbone highlighting.

3. BYS Eyeshadow Compact in Smokey Chic

Google says that this brand comes all the way from Australia but it surprised me that it reached our shores. I didn’t regret buying it though despite the unfamiliarity. Smokey Chic consists of a silvery white, a pink-toned nude, bronze-taupe, a dark silver-taupe and a black. This palette isn’t matte but it isn’t too shimmery either. I’d call it sheen. My faves are the nude & bronze-taupe and the least fave is the black… not black at all! More of a dark gray 😦 As a whole though, I’ve been going back to this quad for daily use.

4. Lipsticks: NYC Ultra Moist in Pink Sand, Max Factor Colour Perfection in Apricot, and Careline in Butterscotch

It’s been humid and hot (and the occasional rainshowers) for the past few weeks so my lips always gear towards the nudes, pinks and peaches. Pink Sand is the perfect matte nude for me (unless I find another in the future) and Apricot looks frosty in the tube, but glides on as a glossy lipstick. Butterscotch gives that pinkish cherry look as if you’ve eaten popsicles; reminds me of MAC’s Viva Glam Cyndi as what I’ve seen online. πŸ™‚

clockwise from top: swatches, NYC Pink Sand, Careline Butterscotch, Max Factor Apricot

What are your favorites from the past month?

Leave a Reply

