James Cooper Three Color Palette Inspires Subtlety

With its matte black case and no-whistles booth at Watson’s (heck, I don’t even hear enough about this brand), James Cooper is the king of subtlety. This is from his Jazzy collection but I am not entirely sure if he has older collections and whatnots. He’s locally known as a make-up artist to great showbiz names. His eyeshadows though are far from subtle, but we’ll get to that later. 🙂

There’s more than what meets the eye regarding this palette. First off, this palette is entirely customizable. At Php399 ($9.40) per shadow, you can choose from a wide array of pigmented, buttery-smooth and long-wearing colors that Mr. Cooper has to offer. Once you choose your colors, the saleslady gives you a free palette (no magnets though; just double-sided tape). Each pot weighs 3-grams so you get a decent amount of product for its price. The case has a nice weight to it (reminds me of Sleek i-Divine palettes) and gives you a huge mirror inside (major brownie point!). For a first-timer with this brand, I opted for matte light yellow, shimmery gold-peach-copper and a matte medium peach-tinged beige.

I admit, these are “safe” colors, perfect for day-time, work environments. But with the amount of money I’m going to blow, I chose colors that I can see myself using daily. From the dizzying array of shades, you can opt for colorful to neutral mattes and shimmers… the choices are endless! But I digress.. at the end of a long-a$$ day, I want subtle and low-maintenance but with a certain ka-pow! on my peepers.

And Mr. Cooper has not failed me. Now I’m craving for more colors from this brand! It’s like a local version of Sugarpill Cosmetics or those Lime Crime and OCCs. FYI, he’s also worked for Farrah Fawcett and Jamie Lee Curtis from those bygone years. I wouldn’t have known if I hadn’t researched. Not bad for a no-whistle, humble Filipino make-up artist, and this assures that his products are of Hollywood quality but with Juan-friendly prices. 🙂

Leave a Reply

